Ayurved Doctor


Chakras and their effect on human body

Ayurveda believes that there are seven Chakras in the human body. These Chakras play a vital role in determining the health. These Chakras literally translate to ‘Wheel’ or ‘Circle’. These are the energy center of the body and absorbs and circulate Prana or life energy across the body. There are numerous mini Chakras present across the various parts of the body like feet, palms, elbows, etc. While these mini chakras may be scattered across the body, the seven primary chakras are present along with the spine in the region where five vital nervous plexus are present.

These chakras also act as a base for three vital Naadis; Pingla, Ida and Sushumna to form a concentrated Pranic energy or life energy region. Another important work of these chakras is to connect mind and body. Most of the human being never think about this omnipresent source of energy, but tuning into them and maintaining their overall functionality is vital for health.

Let’s have a look at each of these chakras and diseases that can occur due their malfunction.

Mooladhara Chakra

It is also known as ‘Root Chakra’,  it is present at the base of the spine. It also corresponds to the coccygeal plexus and also has control over the adrenal glands. It also supports muscular and skeletal system, spine, blood production, temperature, kidney health and energy. It also has an influence on emotions like survival instinct, fear, preservation, insecurity, etc. a person who possesses healthy chakra is usually healthy, robust and full of energy. So, keeping root chakra in healthy working condition is quite vital for your overall health.

Ailments caused by the malfunctioning of the Mooladhara Chakra

Spinal diseases, arthritis, blood disorder, cancers like leukemia and bone cancer, growth problems, allergy, slow wound healing, etc. can be attributed to the malfunctioning of this chakra.

Swadhisthana Chakra:

This chakra is also known as the Sacral Chakra or sexual chakra and is present near the pubic area just below the navel. This chakra controls the working of gonads and also corresponds to aortic plexus. This chakra is also responsible for governing organs such as the testicles, ovaries, seminal vesicle, prostate glands, kidneys, Cowper gland, adrenal glands, large intestine, blood pressure, rectum, bladder, anus and uterus. It also transfers vital life energy via back Hara chakra and spleen chakra.

Ailments that occur due to malfunctioning of this chakra

A person with improper functioning of Swadhisthana Chakra can suffer from sex-related issues, high blood pressure, kidney diseases, lower back problem, constipation, prostate problems, uterus, menstrual irregularity and bladder ailments.

Solar plexus chakra

It is also known as Manipura Chakra. It is located slightly above the navel and just below the ribs. This chakra controls epigastric plexus and is also responsible for the pancreas. It also governs working of various organs like stomach, spleen, intestines, diaphragm, bladder, pancreas and liver. This chakra also governs some emotional outcomes like fame carving, ego, ambitions and negative emotions like anger, envy, jealousy, greed, cruelty and violence.

Ailments that are caused due to malfunctioning of this chakra

Malfunctioning of this chakra causes some digestive disorders, ulcers, constipations, hepatitis, diabetes, colitis, skin problems, heart problems, high blood pressure, asthma and allergies.

Heart chakra/ Anahata chakra

It is present near the center of the chest. This chakra mainly relates to cardiac plexus. It also administers the working and functionality of the thymus and controls lungs, circulatory system, and heart. It also works on controlling the emotions like compassion and love. It is also the center of the higher and more refined emotions. This chakra is the one that makes us more human and helps us to feel emotionally connected with people.

Ailments that are caused due to malfunctioning of this chakra

Improperly working of this chakra leads mostly to the heart problems and respiratory disorders like asthma, tuberculosis, and bronchitis.

Vishuddhi Chakra or Throat chakra

It is also known as throat chakra and is present near the throat and relates to carotid plexus. It is also responsible for the functioning of the thyroid gland and also helps in governing the voice box, throat, trachea, thyroid, parathyroid, arms, lymphatic system, arms, mouth, hand, neck, and tongue. It also controls emotions like speech, communication, self-expression, communication, sense of aesthetics and creativity.

Ailments that are caused due to malfunctioning of the chakra

Most of the throat related disorders can be attributed to this chakra. Goiter, speech problems, sore throat, voice problems, cervical pain, and tonsillitis are some of the most common ailments that occur due to malfunctioning of this chakra.

Anja Chakra/ Third Eye Chakra

This chakra is present between the eyebrows and corresponds with the nasociliary plexus. It contacts organs like pituitary glands, hypothalamus, etc. and is also responsible for functioning of the nervous system, lower brain, nose, ear and left eye. It helps facilitates emotions like intellect and intuition. This chakra is also known as master chakra, and it governs all other chakras.

Ailments that occur due to malfunctioning of this chakra

The malfunction of this chakra leads to diseases that are related to the endocrine glands, lower brain, autonomic nervous system, smell related disorder and hearing disorders.

Sahasrara Chakra

This chakra is also known as the crown chakra. It situated at the top of the head. It corresponds to the pineal gland, and it also governs the working of the gland, higher or upper brain, and the right eye. It also manages the emotions like self-realization and consciousness.

Ailments that occur due to malfunction of this chakra

The disease that is related to the cerebral cortex and pineal gland can be attributed to the malfunctioning of this chakra.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *